logo top bar


Since its earliest days, Min-On has encouraged the development of artistic talent worldwide through various international programs, including the Tokyo International Music Competition (in three categories for vocalists, conductors, and chamber ensembles), launched in 1966, and the Tokyo International Choreography Competition, inaugurated in 1991. Both competitions have helped foster numerous artists and have contributed to the development of music and the performing arts in Japan and throughout the world.

The Tokyo International Music Competition for Conducting—one of the three categories of the Tokyo International Music Competition—was launched in 1967 and is held every three years. Since its inception, it has nurtured a great number of talented conductors and has become an internationally acclaimed competition for conducting. The most recent competition, which took place in 2009, attracted a total of 117 individual applications from 33 countries and regions. The application process for the next competition in 2012 has just begun.

The Tokyo International Choreography Competition is one of the very few competitions of its kind in the world. The competition brings together dozens of choreographers and dance groups from around the world and provides a unique stage for the young performers of the future.

Additionally, between 1969 and 1994, Min-On organized the Min-On Contemporary Music Festival as a part of the Music Competition to introduce contemporary works by prominent young Japanese composers. Many noted commissioned works of contemporary music were introduced to the public during this period.

Prize Winners at Past Conductors Competitions

2nd TIMC for Conducting in 19702nd TIMC for Conducting in 1970Award Winners at Conductors Competition in 2006Award Winners at Conductors Competition in 2006Award Winner at 14th Conductors CompetitionAward Winner at 14th Conductors CompetitionAward Winner at 15th Conductors Competition in 2009Award Winner at 15th Conductors Competition in 2009
  • 1st Competition in 19671st Place: Yukinori Tezuka, 2nd Place: Shigenobu Yamaoka, 3rd Place: Hiroshi Koizumi
  • 2nd Competition in 19701st Place: Kazuhiro Koizumi, 2nd Place: Tadaaki Otaka , 3rd Place: Jacques Brourman
  • 3rd Competition in 19731st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: Akinari Iguchi, Yasuhiko Shiozawa and David Howell, 3rd Place: No recipient
  • 4th Competition in 19761st Place: Alan Balter, 2nd Place: Jerome Kaltenbach, 3rd Place: Makoto Kokubu
  • 5th Competition in 19791st Place: Yoshikazu Tanaka, 2nd Place: Kim Hong Jae, 3rd Place: Satomi Kurita
  • 6th Competition in 19821st Place: Naohiro Totsuka, 2nd Place: Kazushi Ohno, 3rd Place: Hiroyuki Odano
  • 7th Competition in 19851st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: Norichika Iimori, 3rd Place: Pascal Verrot
  • 8th Competition in 19881st Place: Hirofumi Kurita, 2nd Place: Alexandre Titov, 3rd Place: Carlo Rizzi
  • 9th Competition in 19911st Place: Olivier Grangean, 2nd Place: Yuri Nakamura, 3rd Place: Daniel Kleiner
  • 10th Competition in 19941st Place: Francisco de Galvez, 2nd Place: Dorian Wilson, 3rd Place: Koji Kawamoto
  • 11th Competition in 19971st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: Marco Parisotto, Yun-Sung Chang and Ronen Borshevsky
  • 12th Competition in 20001st Place: Tatsuya Shimono, 2nd Place: Toshio Yanagisawa, 3rd Place: No recipient
  • 13th Competition in 20031st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: Alexander Mayer, 3rd Place: James Lowe
  • 14th Competition in 20061st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: Kentaro Kawase, 3rd Place: No recipient
  • 15th Competition in 20091st Place: No recipient, 2nd Place: No recipient, 3rd Place: Mikhail Leontyev

Prize Winners at Past Vocalists Competitions

  • 1st Competition in 19661st Place: Katsumi Niwa, 2nd Place: Toshitaka Mori, 3rd Place: Tadao Yoshie
  • 2nd Competition in 19691st Place: Shuichi Takahashi, 2nd Place: Yasuko Hayashi, 3rd Place: Yuko Tsuji and Shigeko Kasuga
  • 3rd Competition in 19721st Place: Motomu Itsuki, 2nd Place: Tami Asakura, 3rd Place: Hihoko Takagi
  • 4th Competition in 19751st Place: Yukiko Iwasaki, 2nd Place: Naoki Ikeda, 3rd Place: Makoto Hayashi
  • 5th Competition in 19781st Place: Yukie Okura, 2nd Place: Yukimi Akiyama, 3rd Place: Chiu Yu-Lan
  • 6th Competition in 19811st Place: Yasuko Kozaki, 2nd Place: Tetsuya Ohno, 3rd Place: Keiko Asada
  • 7th Competition in 19841st Place: Kazuko Nagai, 2nd Place: Masako Saida, 3rd Place: Masato Makino
  • 8th Competition in 19871st Place: Mayumi Matsuzono, 2nd Place: Hisara Sato, 3rd Place: Galina Simkina
  • 9th Competition in 19901st Place: Soile Isokoski, 2nd Place: Viktoria Loukianetz, 3rd Place: Irina Romischevskaya
  • 10th Competition in 19931st Place: Alexei Repehinsky, 2nd Place: Chen-Ye Yuan, 3rd Place: Andrej Spekhov

Prize Winners in the past Chamber Ensembles Competitions

  • 1st Competition in 19741st Place: Bela Quartet, 2nd Place: Kiri Quintet
  • 2nd Competition in 19771st Place: no recipient, 2nd Place: Ensemble Adan and Quatre Roseaux Saxophone Ensemble
  • 3rd Competition in 1980[1st Division] 1st Place: Duree String Quartet / 2nd Place: Tokyo Brahms Quartet
    [2nd Division] 1st Place: Tokyo Piano Quartet / 2nd Place: Quatre Roseaux Saxophone Ensemble
  • 4th Competition in 1983[1st Division] 1st Place: Muse String Quartet, 2nd Place: no recipient
    [2nd Division] 1st Place: Le vent Veri Wind Quintet, 2nd Place: Tokto Brass Quintet
  • 5th Competition in 1986[1st Division] 1st Place: Halley String Quartet, 2nd Place: Brodsky String Quartet
    [2nd Division] 1st Place: Harmo Saxophone Ensemble, 2nd Place: Tibia Wind Quintet
  • 6th Competition in 1989 [1st Division] 1st Place: Y. Quartet, 2nd Place: String Quartet of the Leningrad N.A.
    imsky-Korsakov State Conservatoire
    [2nd Division] 1st Place: Aricis Quintet, 2nd Place: Roseau Quintet
  • 7th Competition in 1992 [1st Division] 1st Place: Amernet String Quartet, 2nd Place: Subaru String Quartet, and Musa String Quartet
    [2nd Division] 1st Place: Apollo Saxophone Ensemble, 2nd Place: V.I.F. and Trouvere Quartet
    [3rd Division] 1st Place: American Horn Quartet, 2nd Place: Bielefelder Posaunenquartett

Prize Winner at the past Tokyo International Choreography Competition

1993 Choreographers Competition1993 Choreographers Competition 1993 Choreographers Competition1993 Choreographers Competition
  • 1st Competition in 1991 1st Place: Redha Benteifour (France)
    2nd Place: Rick McCullough (U.S.A)
    3rd Place: Robert Balogh (Czech)
    4th Place: Stanislaw Wisniewski (Poland)
    4th Place: Hannu Huttinen (Finland)
    5th Place: Jan Linkens (Netherlands)
    Prince Takamado Award: Stanislaw Wisniewski
  • 2st Competition in 1993 1st Place: Philippe Trehet (France)
    2nd Place: Agnes Locsin (Philippines)
    3rd Place: Sungsoo Ahn (Korea)
    4th Place: Myriam Naisy (France)
    4th Place: Stanislaw Wisniewski (Poland)
    4th Place: Edmund Stripe (Australia)
    Takamado Award: Agnes Locsin